Press Releases


St. Louis County Police Department National Award for Heroin Education Initiative

Created 2 years 204 days ago
by News Editor

Views: 1359

For Immediate Release


The St. Louis County Police Department’s Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force will receive the 2012 “Outstanding Community Prevention Effort Award” in Washington D.C. on Thursday, December 13, 2012 as a result of their heroin initiative “Not-Even-Once” campaign in the St. Louis Metro area. The task force is made up, not only of St. Louis County Police Officers, but officers from eight other area municipal Police Departments.

The award will be presented by President Barack Obama’s Drug Czar, Director Gil Kerlikowske of the Office of National Drug Control Policy. It is given to the task force that exhibits outstanding results in community support, assistance and education in utilizing the cooperative spirit and tenets of the High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) program. St. Louis County Executive Charlie Dooley will also be present at the award ceremony.

The goal of the “Not-Even-Once” program was to prevent young people from experimenting with heroin, and to reduce the overall number of heroin overdose fatalities in St. Louis County. After rising to a total of ninety-one deaths in 2011, heroin fatalities in St. Louis County have decreased by thirty percent to date in 2012.

Chief Tim Fitch stated, "I couldn’t be more proud of the tenacity that the officers have put forward to attack this growing problem. Heroin overdose deaths in St. Louis County have greatly diminished and every person on the task force has made a difference in that reduction. Our partners in this initiative have been the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse and the St. Louis County Children’s Fund.

“Chief Fitch, his department and the other area police departments are once again leading the way to help us curb this serious problem,” said Dooley. “This national recognition is well deserved.”\

The St. Louis County Police Department’s Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force received the Midwest HIDTA Regional Award on Monday, December 3, 2012.

Read More News »

Crime Mapping

County Police and Parents
Unite Against Substance Abuse!

At various places throughout this Website you will find files in Adobe Acrobat (.PDF) format. To view these files you will need a recent version (6.0 or later) of the free Acrobat Reader. It may be downloaded from Adobe by clicking this icon:
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Click here to go to the St. Louis Regional Crimestoppers Website
St. Louis Regional CrimeStoppers
Call toll-free 866-371-TIPS (8477)
or submit: Tip or Lead
or text: STL plus your message to 274637 (CRIMES)
Click here to go to the St. Louis Terrorism Early Warning Group Website
St. Louis Terrorism Early Warning Group
Call 314-615-4839
or submit: Question, Tip or Lead
Click here to open an anonymous form for reporting illegal drug activity.
St. Louis County Drug Task Force
Call 314-863-DOPE (3673) to report drug activity
or submit: Anonymous Tip or Lead by Web form
or by email to:
St. Louis County Human Trafficking Task Force

Call 314-615-8618 to report human trafficking

Submit: Anonymous Tip by Web form

or by email to:

To contact St. Louis County Police, see below:

St. Louis County Police Department CALEA Logo
7900 Forsyth Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63105

Emergency Calls: Call 911
Non-Emergency Reporting / General Information: (314) 889-2341
TDD: (314) 889-2345

Surviving an Active
Shooter Incident

También en español: CORRA. ESCONDASE. PELEE. Sobreviviendo un Tiroteo
National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) - Check Current Status in a New Browser Window or Tab
Police Department Procedure Library
Click on the number to go to that precinct site. 1st Precinct - North County 2nd Precinct - Central County 3rd Precinct - Affton Southwest 4th Precinct - South County 5th Precinct - City of Fenton 5th Precinct - City of Fenton 6th Precinct - City of Wildwood 7th Precinct - West County

Click on the Precinct Number
to go to the Precinct Site.
Click here to go to
the Division of Patrol pages.
St. Louis County
Police Department is
Actively Seeking:
Police Recruits for Training
$19.31 per hour
Police Officers and
New Academy Graduates

starting at $48,256
Police Report Clerk - CARE Operator
$34,507 - $50,197
Public Safety Dispatcher
$34,507 - $50,197

For more information
and to obtain an application
click on
Career Information or
call the Personnel Services Unit
at (314) 615-4273

No Residency Requirement
Applications Accepted on
a Continuous Basis