St. Charles County 1st Home Down Payment Loan Program


General Overview

The HOME St. Charles program is an effort by the County to provide zero-interest down payment loans to income-eligible first time homebuyers within the participating jurisdictions of the St. Charles Urban County, Cottleville, Lake St. Louis, New Melle, St. Charles City, St. Paul, St. Peters, Weldon Spring, Wentzville, or the unincorporated area of St. Charles County. 

Under this initiative, the County will purchase subordinated second mortgage loans which finance, in conjunction with the origination of the primary loans by the Mortgage Lender, the down payment and eligible closing costs associated with acquiring qualified owner-occupied residences.

The Second Mortgage Loans are at zero percent interest,forgivable after 5 years and will be originated and sold to St. Charles County by approved not-for-profit housing counseling agencies. St. Charles County will provide each housing counseling agency with a program manual that will provide detailed Program Procedures, and will coordinate a training and review session with participating agencies.


Loan Amount

Up to $10,000.00

Income Limits

FY 2018 Income Limit Category

1 Person

2 Person

3 Person

4 Person

5 Person

6 Person

7 Person

8 Person

Low (80%) Income Limits









Participating Lender/Counseling Agencies

Better Family Life
5415 Page
St. Louis, MO 63112
(314) 367-1843 
Beyond Housing/NHS
6506 Wright Way
St. Louis, MO 63121
(314) 533-0600
The Housing Partnership
336 E. Ripa Avenue 
St. Louis, MO 63125
(314) 631-9905
Northeast Community Action Corp.
3400 Meadow Pointe Dr.
O'Fallon, MO 63366
(800) 748-7636

Helpful Information

U.S. Dept. of Housing & Urban Development

Part 5 Income Calculator
(for use with Homebuyer Checklist)

Manual and Lender's Forms

  • Manual pdf 
  • Borrower's Intake pdf 
  • Closing Certification pdf | doc
  • Deed of Trust  doc
  • Homebuyer Checklist pdf 
  • Homebuyer Form pdf | doc
  • Inspection Procedures pdf
  • Recapture Policy pdf | doc
  • Request for Notice of Sale Under Deed of Trust (Mortgage) pdf | doc
  • Reservation Form doc
  • Subordination Policy pdf
  • Subordination Agreement doc
  • Forgivable Note  doc
It is the policy of St. Louis County to provide services without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, age, sex, familial status, physical handicap or disability.

Contact Information
Office of Community Development
41 South Central Avenue (5th Floor)
Clayton, MO 63105
(314) 615-8232
Fax: (314) 615-8674
Relay Missouri 1-800-735-2966