Sylvan Springs Park
300 Halsey Road
8 a.m. - 30 minutes past sunset
General Information / History
Originally known as Rock Springs, this was the site of the first bivouac
at Jefferson Barracks.
This portion of the Barracks remained largely unused until 1939, when the spring area was improved by the 6th Infantry with stone retaining walls and terraces. Two years later enlisted men from Jefferson Barracks cleared underbrush, and built an amphitheater, a dance floor, and baseball and football fields. The USO hosted many shows here, the first being June 28, 1941. Among the well-known performers over the following years were Virginia Mayo, fan dancer Sally Rand, Jeanette MacDonald and Judy Garland. The USO bandshell was removed from the park in the 1970s.
The Sylvan Springs property was conveyed to the County from the Federal Government in 1950 and was dedicated on October 23, 1954.
Constructed totally by park staff, the first phase of the skate park was opened in November of 2007.
Click here for more history on Sylvan Springs Park.
Features & Amenities
+ Spray Fountain Play Area
+ Tennis Courts
+ Year-Round Restrooms (tennis courts and playground)
+ Skate Park
The Skate Park is open to all users (Skateboard, BMX bikes, Scooters and Rollerblades) on a trial basis. We expect all users to be respectful of each other while at the park. If users experience problems they should call Ranger Dispatch at 314-615-8911.
+ Reservable Shelters